Monster

Named by Booklist of one of the best horror novels of the year and by WBUR as one of the best books of the year.

The supernatural, unmissable new novel by the ALA Best Horror award nominee. In nineteenth-century Germany, one young man counts down the days until he can marry his beloved . . . until she is found brutally murdered, and the young man is accused of the crime.

Broken on the wheel and left for dead, he awakens on a lab table, transformed into an abomination. Friedrich must go far to take his revenge –only to find his tormentor, Victor Frankenstein, in league with the Marquis de Sade, creating something much more sinister deep in the mountains. Paranormal and gripping in the tradition of the best work of Stephen King and Justin Cronin, Monster is a gruesome parable of control and vengeance, and an ingenious tribute to Mary Shelley’s classic novel.

Reviews for Monster

“More impressively, Zeltserman’s plot maps almost perfectly onto the plot of Shelley’s novel — the key word being “almost.” In its departures, the novel provides more than its cover price in entertainment. Vampyres abound, as do Satanic cults and the Marquis de Sade, preparing to enact the 120 Days of Sodom in a remote mountain castle. You don’t get much more gothic bang for your buck.”

Los Angeles Times

“This is juicy material for Franken-fans, and Zeltserman is just faithful enough to the original that his many fresh contributions feel entirely normal. Well, abnormal, to be accurate, but deliciously so.”

Daniel Kraus, Booklist *Starred review*

“This reworking of Frankenstein is chilling and captivating!…A tale of justice, true love, and ultimate forgiveness, this gruesome novel is perfect for fans of Stephen King and similar horror stories.”

ForeWord Magazine, *Pick of the Week*

“Gripping, evocative, horrific, and even poignant.”

Tom Piccirilli

“Magnificently horrific… a surprisingly profound reimagining of the Mary Shelley horror classic Frankenstein,… The obvious recommendation here is for horror fans and readers who loved Frankenstein but I would suggest Zeltserman’s Monster to literary and mainstream fiction readers as well. It’s an homage to Shelley’s classic, yes, but it’s also a powerful parable about having the courage to be ourselves.”

Paul Goat Allen, Barnes & Noble